In this issue of the Amazon FBA deep-dive, we are analyzing a 4-year-old pet brand, Better Sporting Dogs. The brand is well-positioned but has several easy wins that can increase revenues quickly.
The estimated monthly revenue for this brand is $76,500. With the easy wins, we envision it can be increased by 35% equating to $103,275/mo.
This is what we cover in this deep dive:
- Business Summary
- 4 Easy Wins to increase revenue
- What is the exit valuation of this brand?
- Actionable takeaways
Let’s get into it!
Better Sporting Dogs Brand Overview
Better Sporting Dogs is a great example of a successful Amazon private-label business in the Pets Niche. With the first listing established in 2019, it is now estimated to be doing $76,500/month in revenue.
Below is the Helium10 overview of the brand:
There are 9 overall products with the top 3 listings bringing in approximately 70% of the overall revenue. The top 3 products all have 4.3 ratings or above which indicates high-quality products.
Across the broader product portfolio, we can see there are opportunities to introduce bundles of similar products together – expanding revenue in the future.
- Strong revenue diversification; top 3 products bring in roughly 70% of overall revenue
- High organic ranking and unique bundle structure allows higher price point than competitor brands
- Strong review ratings (135 average reviews/product) with most products above 4.5 stars
- Multiple listings using manufacturer shipping (MFN) indicate logistical challenges with shipping these products
- Low review counts of top listings compared to the category average of 633 reviews
4 Easy Wins To Grow Brand By 35%
There are opportunities to significantly grow this brand. We break down the following easy wins:
- Add additional keywords into listing bullet points to improve SEO
- Implement a cohesive advertising strategy across all ASINs to drive traffic to the listing
- Implement virtual bundles to increase cross-selling of similar items
- Use Sponsored Brand videos to increase revenue by 10-15%
Let’s get into it!
➡️ Win #1: Bullet points to include additional keywords
Many of the top-selling listings have optimized titles but do not contain optimized bullet points. Keywords in bullet points contain significant weight for organic ranking on Amazon and as such, important keywords should be included here.
Keywords such as the ones below can be added to the ASIN bullet lists:
- Dog obstacle course (2,240 monthly searches)
- Dog tunnel for large dogs (1,257 monthly searches)
- Dog training kit (1,231 monthly searches)
➡️ Win #2: Advertising Strategy for ASIN B088RJKGGM
Currently, there are no Sponsored Results for ASIN: B088RJKGGM which is estimated to be doing $21,643 in revenue/month.
Looking at competitor products below, they are advertising against 554 keywords increasing traffic to their listing and overall sales.
We would focus initial advertising efforts on keywords where this specific ASIN is ranked in positions 5-10 because most traffic on Amazon goes to the first 4 listings.
Keywords such as the ones below would be targeted first:
- dog agility training equipment (organic rank of 5)
- dog obstacle course (organic rank of 8)
- obstacle course for dogs (organic rank of 7)
- dog training equipment (organic rank of 7)
➡️ Win #3: Virtual Bundles to Increase Cross-Selling
With multiple products in the same niche, virtual bundles are an easy way to increase cross-selling between similar products and take up more space on your listing. Virtual bundles appear on your Amazon listing and provide a chance to advertise your product catalog and push off competitors.
➡️ Win #4: Add Sponsored Brand Videos
Sponsored Brand Videos represent a high-impact ad placement that is especially relevant for product bundles like the dog training equipment this brand offers.
Here is an example of a competing brand using sponsored videos:
While the format of best-performing Sponsored Brand videos can vary by category, best practices are to:
- Use attention-grabbing shots in the first 3 seconds to draw viewers in
- Use big, bold text to list product features (videos start out muted)
- Keep it short – most videos are 15 – 30 seconds long
How Much Is this Amazon FBA Brand Worth?
With an estimated monthly revenue of $76,500, the annual revenue rate equates to $918,000. Multiple products are being shipped using manufacturer shipping instead of FBA which typically indicates lower-than-average profit margins.
Assuming a net profit margin of 15%, gives us an annual profit of $137,700.
This business has multiple products which are category leaders or close to being category leaders in the dog agility training niche.
4 Actionable Takeaways
Here are 4 actionable takeaways that you can apply to your business today:
- Use every aspect of the listing (title, bullet points, A+ content) to include relevant keywords to improve SEO
- Use competitor research and current organic rankings to determine keywords to focus on with your advertising efforts
- Virtual bundles represent an easy win to increase average order value and cross-selling products
- Sponsored Brand videos represent a great way to differentiate your products from competitors and drive additional traffic to your listings.